My August Weight Loss Update

workoutThe last time I went meatless for a week, I broke a plateau and never looked back. When we go grocery shopping next week, meat is not on the shopping list. Let’s not get it twisted now, I’m not one for the extreme when it comes to weight loss, I just adjust certain parts of my lifestyle to work with my ever changing metabolism and fat burning patterns.

It’s the natural thing to do. If I do too much of the same routine my body gets used to it and often stalls the burning process creating a plateau. This goes for both working out and the diet routine. While my workouts are always changing, my diet has been consistently filled with baked/grilled proteins, eggs, cereals, veggies, fruits, limited bread products and limited sugar.

While I will never stop pounding fruits and veggies, a change in primary proteins from chicken to fish is usually substantial in regard to my progression. So that’s the plan for the next two weeks. Seafood and eggs, baby. Last time I did it for a week and dropped 7 pounds that never came back. Now that my cardio has increased and my weights have been regulated to mostly upper body, I’m anxious to see what kind of results await.

I lost 8 pounds in August. About 3 pounds less than I did in July, but still a good healthy number. To this month’s credit I’m actually using results from week 3, as I won’t have time to blog this weekend when my actual weigh in takes place. So there’s a good chance that with the rest of this week’s work by Saturday I could very well match last month’s total.

While my numbers game appears to be slightly off, my inches lost game has done nicely. I’ve been breaking out old clothes I used to rock in my 2006-2007 weight loss heydays – Yes; I’m a clothes hoarder — and trying them on when I feel sexy and accomplished.

Per my Disney World Spring 2005 Mickey beach shirt that didn’t fit me right until 2006, I’ve gotten even smaller. In July I could not button it up. This morning, not only did the buttons close, I had a little space in there. Not a lot, as you can still see my spare tire (problem area) but I’ll take any progress I can get.

Any progress is good progress.

The Current Showtorious Fitness Plan

Results for August: -8 Pounds

Next goal: -31 pounds by October 31st.

Exercise:

Cardio: 1 hour to 90 minutes per session.

Lifting:  The emphasis has been on upper body; lower body is working itself out as it is.

Diet:

  • Lean meats, limited cheat.
  • Limited bread products.
  • Limited sugar.
  • Lots of veggies.
  • Lots of fruits
  • Granola was introduced to the supplement the sweet tooth.
  • Caffeine cycled bi-weekly.

Goals for September:

  • -15 pounds
  • Meatless for two weeks, only consuming eggs, seafood and VERY limited bacon. (Eff you, bacon rules!)
  • Increase in water intake
  • Increase in juicing activity.
  • Decrease in caffeine intake.

Follow my progress on Instagram and Twitter if you get a chance. Both @Showtorious  As for Facebook, I can’t help you. If you don’t know me, I won’t add you.

Well, most of the time I won’t add you. You can try though.

Out.

Leave a Reply

