My September Fitness Update

The weather outside is beautiful. It’s no longer too hot and it’s not too cool. The shedding of tree leaves, the addition of a light jacket at night; Fall rolls into active duty and the Summer fades from sight. September is a great month for change.

It’s a damn shame I didn’t change much.

For me, September was just one big plateau in the weight loss department. I didn’t gain any weight but I didn’t lose any, either. We’re still stuck at -77 pounds; exactly where we left off in August. This is a fail on a few levels.

It’s my fault though. I just couldn’t say no. Steve Austin said it best, “There’s not a workout in the world that can outdo a shitty diet.” I cheated more than I should last month. Though we didn’t eat any fast food or hit any buffets, I didn’t lose any weight because I lost focus a little.

I’m officially nipping that situation in the bud.

Effective immediately, I’m back in the basement. It’s all about work and the gym. That’s it. My focus needs to be on staying on track and not pussyfooting around.

In addition to cheating a little too much last month, I allowed my eating schedule to become compromised by my work schedule. There’s no way around the work situation so I need my intake to adapt to that 11-7 early swing shift.

My mistake was hitting the gym after work and then coming home and eating dinner. Your body’s metabolism slows down at night as it is. If you burn before dinner it works against you because your body is basically going to just eat what it just supposedly worked off in the gym.

Dinner just wasn’t working FOR me.

It’s a basic adjustment, really. What’s crazy about the whole thing is, I knew I was fucking up. I just failed to make the correction. As long as I’m on this schedule I’m going to need to start eating dinner before I leave work. This will enable me to finish my intake of food by or before 7pm and use dinner as fuel for the nightly workout session.

I’ll need to supplement my intake with a small protein shake; fruit or veggies after the gym still but at least it won’t be a full-on meal after 9pm with an 11pm bedtime.

I’m pretty sure that’s the only major tweak I’m going to need to make to be successful this month. September wasn’t a total waste of time though. I began to get down on myself for a while until my girlfriend and I went window shopping on the 28th and THIS happened!

september

In the beginning of the month I tried on a XXL shirt at G by Guess (one of my goal stores) and saw that I was about 4 inches away from ROCKING that size. Well, in this picture I’m sporting an XXL shirt from JC Penney that I tried on. It’s tight but I could breathe in it. I know that a JC Penney shirt and a Guess shirt have differences in fit but to be able to button an XXL shirt in any format is a victory for me.

I haven’t been able to do that since 2007.

Continued progress is the BEST motivation.

Follow my progress on Twitter and Instagram @Showtorious 😉

The Showtorious Fitness Plan

Results for September: 0 pounds lost. Fit into a XXL shirt, though!

Exercise:

Cardio 60-90 minutes per session.

Lifting: The emphasis remains on upper body. Recently instructed by physician to slow my weight lifting routine and focus more on weight loss. Will begin lifting 3 days a week instead of 6 days.

Diet:

  • Chicken and Fish, limited red meats.
  • Limited sugar.
  • Introduced San Pellegrino sparkling water to the routine.
  • Soda has been 100% eliminated.
  • No artificial sweeteners, including high fructose corn syrup.

Goals for October:

  • -20 pounds by October 31st.
  • Meal timing to be fine tuned.
  • Increase I outdoor activity.
  • Basketball drills for additional cardio.
  • GET INTO NEW CHICAGO BULLS JERSEY!!!

BullsStore

Leave a Reply

